I am sorely tempted to give up this meme

After what happened in Charleston, South Carolina, after a young white man sat for an hour with a dozen black people at prayer before shooting at them and killing nine of the twelve, I hardly see the point to telling you about my spiritual practices and nascent theological ideas. Yet my writing is my offering to my gods and to my community, to the common good; it is that which I have to give. So after this I will write my essay for the meme and post it.

I pray that the light of Christ will shine in mercy forever on his faithful disciples who were killed last night. And I pray that the gods of justice will see their killer tried, convicted, and imprisoned in this life, and that they will harry him without mercy in the next.

Leave a Reply

