For Paris, Baghdad, Beirut

I don’t have anything wise or true or helpful to say about yesterday’s terrorist attacks, which took place not only in Paris but in Baghdad and Beirut. I can’t do anything except light candles and pour water for the dead, and pray. And so I offer you, my readers, what has helped and comforted me.

First, an iconic film moment, for the City of Light:

Second, because I have no pagan or Antinoan equivalent to offer, a quintessentially Anglican burial service, one which I myself have sung at funerals:

Ignis corporis infirmat, ignis sed animae perstat!

Leave a Reply

