POEM: What Juno said to the peahen

common_peafowl_pavo_cristatus_rwd2
Peacock and peahen

 

I promise to protect you, little hen, shrewd guardian
of your chicks, so drab and modest; I promise your kind
will be honored and enriched, a byword for beauty
everywhere. But it is your mate I will claim for my own
and name as my bird, blessed with the eyes of Argus,
because my worshippers, my vessels, shall not be hidden
on their nests like hens: Let them walk forth
with all possible grace and beauty, carrying
their sovereignty as the peacock does his tail.

Leave a Reply

